It is currently Wed 15 May 2024 2:38 pm

All times are UTC

Forum rules

Please click here to view the forum rules

Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 105 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 11  Next
PostPosted: Sat 25 May 2013 11:42 pm 

Repeatedly when I tell people here in NYC that I am studying Irish, they say, "You mean Gaelic?"

At the outset of my studies I read quite a bit on the terminology, and my understanding is that in Europe people generally use the term Irish for the language, and that Gaelic can be Irish or Scottish or Manx and is therefore ambiguous. Irish just seemed like the best choice all around, even though I am in the U.S.

My audience for my blog is global, but I do have far more readers in the U.S. than anywhere else. It seems it is rare enough in the U.S. to use Irish (although the Irish Arts Center here in NYC does, for its language classes, and they should know!) that I am wondering whether I should try something different, just for the sake of clarity.

I guess an alternative would be Irish Gaelic; I was happy with just Irish and would prefer to stick with that.

What do you think?

PostPosted: Sat 25 May 2013 11:56 pm 

Ellen wrote:
Repeatedly when I tell people here in NYC that I am studying Irish, they say, "You mean Gaelic?"

At the outset of my studies I read quite a bit on the terminology, and my understanding is that in Europe people generally use the term Irish for the language, and that Gaelic can be Irish or Scottish or Manx and is therefore ambiguous. Irish just seemed like the best choice all around, even though I am in the U.S.

My audience for my blog is global, but I do have far more readers in the U.S. than anywhere else. It seems it is rare enough in the U.S. to use Irish (although the Irish Arts Center here in NYC does, for its language classes, and they should know!) that I am wondering whether I should try something different, just for the sake of clarity.